The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

ISACA Certifies 10,000th CRISC - Designation Recognizes Experienced Risk and Control Professionals

Rolling Meadows, IL, USA (19 July 2011)At the closing of ISACAs rigorous grandfathering program for the Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC) designation, more than 10,000 professionals have demonstrated their knowledge and experience in the areas of risk and control and earned the CRISC credential.

ISACA is a nonprofit association of more than 95,000 IT professionals worldwide. The domain areas of CRISC (pronounced see risk) in which candidates were required to demonstrate experience included:
    Risk identification, assessment and evaluation
    Risk response
    Risk monitoring
    IS control design and implementation
    IS control monitoring and maintenance

The CRISC designation was created in response to a significant market demand for a credential that recognizes the skills of experienced risk and control professionals, said Urs Fischer, CISA, CRISC, chair of the CRISC Certification Committee. ISACA requires individuals seeking the CRISC designation to demonstrate a proven ability to design, implement, monitor and maintain effective risk-based information systems controls. The designation helps these certificate holders stand out to employers and among peers.

Since 1 April 2010, candidates from more than 121 countries have applied for CRISC certification. The first CRISC exam was administered in June 2011. The next exam will be held in December 2011 and study materials are available from ISACA for preparation.

The number of those who have already applied for the CRISC credential during the grandfathering period shows that it is well on its way to being recognized and respected globally for risk management, said Ken Vander Wal, CISA, CPA, international president of ISACA. Effective management of risks is valuable to enterprises and finding the most qualified candidates for this responsibility is becoming increasingly critical. The CRISC designation makes it clear to employers that a candidate who has earned it can excel at these responsibilities.

ISACA also administers the following three certifications, which are globally recognized by many industries, government entities and professionals:
    Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA), earned by more than 87,000 professionals since 1978
    Certified Information Security Manager (CISM), earned by more than 16,500 professionals since 2002
    Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT), earned by more than 4,500 professionals since 2007

Additional information about ISACA certifications is available at

With 95,000 constituents in 160 countries, ISACA is a leading global provider of knowledge, certifications, community, advocacy, and education on information systems (IS) assurance and security, enterprise governance and management of IT, and IT-related risk and compliance. Founded in 1969, the nonprofit, independent ISACA hosts international conferences, publishes the ISACA Journal, and develops international IS auditing and control standards, which help its constituents ensure trust in, and value from, information systems. It also advances and attests IT skills and knowledge through the globally respected Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA), Certified Information Security Manager (CISM), Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) and Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC) designations. ISACA continually updates COBIT, which helps IT professionals and enterprise leaders fulfill their IT governance and management responsibilities, particularly in the areas of assurance, security, risk and control, and deliver value to the business.

Follow ISACA on Twitter: Join ISACA on LinkedIn:  ISACA (Official) Like ISACA on Facebook: